Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
naejakire

Peach Melba Nasturtiums

naejakire
11 years ago

Figured this was a good place to ask this, if not let me know since I am a newbie (:

I love nasturtiums and as was buying seeds this year I was reminded of something I noticed last winter but have never come across the answer for. That is, why is there conflicting information for the Peach Melba nasturtium?

On Burpee's website the Peach Melba is a "bright creamy" blossom with "maroon blotches near the center" (http://www.burpee.com/flowers/nasturtium/nasturtium-peach-melba-prod000296.html?catId=2099&trail=).

However, what seems to be the same variety of nasturtium is referred to as Ladybird through both Select Seeds (http://www.selectseeds.com/cgi-bin/htmlos.cgi/05802.29.11042081748459234466) and Sunrise Seeds (http://www.sunriseseeds.com/product/nasturtium-seed-ladybird-cream-purple-spot-seed/).

At Renee's Garden, practically the same nasturtium is sold as Vanilla Berry, an "improved selection" of Peach Melba, which has "soft vanilla with strawberry etched throats" (http://www.reneesgarden.com/seeds/packpg/flowers/nasturtium-vanilla.htm).

These were just a few examples. So could Ladybird be an improved selection of Peach Melba as well?

Also, as if I wasn't already wondering enough, Ed Hume Seeds sells a Peach Melba that seems entirely different (http://www.humeseeds.com/nast_pm.htm). What is that about? Can they really name it Peach Melba when there is already a Peach Melba? Or which came first? Is this the true Peach Melba??

Dun dun dun.

Excuse my ramblings! I did do a Google search and a search on Garden Web, but neither resulted in anything incredibly helpful.

What are your thoughts? Thanks!

Comments (9)

• christinmk z5b eastern WA
    11 years ago