Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
moonlight74

Hydrangeas and Roses

moonlight74
15 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm new to this section of the forum, but love it already. I've been lurking at garden junk for a long time and recently found the Ozarks Gardening Forum since that's where I live.

Anyways...I want to plant a border of bushes between my lot and my neighbors in the front yard. It's fairly long.

How do you think hydrangeas and roses would look alternating the bushes?? There are just so many beautiful flowers, but I'm wondering if you can have too much of a good thing and it just won't look good.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Kelli

Comments (7)

• todancewithwolves
    15 years ago

Hi Kelly, welcome to the Cottage forum.

I guess the question would be what effect do you want?

Roses and hydrangeas go dormant in the winter. You would have no foliage.
    Some roses bloom once and some types are repeat bloomers. Both rose bushes and hydrangeas are relatively the same size.

I don't know your zone but hydrangeas can burn in full scorching sun. They like morning sun and afternoon shade.

I've attached a link below of an old post. It shows pictures of a lush beautiful border created with a variety of plants.

Here is a link that might be useful: My Red Bed - Second Year

• token28001
    15 years ago

The red bed, still stunning every time I see it.

I don't think these two plants will work together. I know for my zone, hydrangeas need almost full shade while roses want full sun, generally.

If you want a privacy hedge, consider some evergreens mixed in with the roses if it's sunny, or with the hydrangeas if it's shady.

• gldno1
    15 years ago

Speaking as another Ozark gardener, the only hydrangea that does well for me is Annabelle and she is planted on the east side of a building and very near the hydrant and is under full mulch. Hydrangea paniculata could work also.