Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mtnrdredux_gw

Woodland trails

mtnrdredux_gw
12 years ago

As always, I preface this with the disclaimer that I am a newbie gardener so sorry if it's a dumb question.

We have about 9 acres. Probably about half of it is wooded. Some of the woods are up a hillside that looks down on our pond and lawns, and some is around a marsh with a lot of wildlife. We were thinking it might be nice to create walking paths through these areas.

My question is, once we go through all of the work of clearing a path, how much work is it to maintain it? Would you need to mulch it regularly? It is just not feasible?

thanks in advance

Comments (10)

• ianna
    12 years ago

Before anyone can answer that question. How often will you be using that path or for that matter, anyone else? Feasiblity of maintain that path is dependent on your answer to this question. It will be high maintenance since that's quite a distance to maintain just as any road requires some form of maintenance. If there's high foot traffic, then whoever walks thru helps in maintaining that path in the course of just walking through the area. Sometimes even animals will help by using the path.

I for one love the idea of scenic hiking trails but all these requires the help of park rangers maintaining the paths. Is that something you have time to do?

Ianna

• woodyoak zone 5 southern Ont., Canada
    12 years ago

A bush hog mower would undoubtedly be useful to have....

• mtnrdredux_gw
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Ianna,

Maybe we would use it a few times a month ...

We have gardeners who take care of our property. They have been with the property for 15+ years and they do a wonderful job. But the PO created many beds and lawns and other things that require a great deal to maintain. They literally used a dumptruck full of mulch this spring, and a lot of man hours spreading it!

Of course, all of this is a big part of why we bought the property, so we accept it.