Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
swaybaby_gw

Hi Ladies :) Need suggestions?

swaybaby
13 years ago

Hi Ladies, I'm new here (well I've been lurking for awhile, I love looking at your gardens!). I'm hoping by the end of spring, I may be able to share a few gardening triumphs here! :) Anyways, I'm just starting out planting a few things for spring (first time EVER!)and was wondering any of you had some suggestions for me. I bought some Foxgloves to plant in a certain location, but after reading about how toxic they are, I'm starting to second guess that idea. I have a rambunctious 2yr old boy, and a girly 4 yr old, that adores flowers. And while I'm always with them while they're outside, and they don't put things in their mouths, it still made me think twice.

Soooooo, my question is, do any of you have any ideas for flowers that are similar or give the same effect as foxgloves? The spot I'm looking at planting is, mostly shaded, with filtered sunlight. I live in Zone 9, and it can get pretty hot (110 or higher often during the summer!, I bought some Hollycocks as well, but it says they like direct sun :( I love that "rambling" or "wild" type feel of a cottage garden. Any suggestions would be awesome! Thanks, Anna

Comments (11)

• scully931
    13 years ago

Obiedient plant is a good one for replacing foxglove. I LOVE foxglove and do plant them. I just haven't had much luck with them coming back year after year. The obidient plant spreads nicely too. I think they are also called 'dragon flowers.'

• ginny12
    13 years ago

I hate to say it but you may want to re-post this question with another title. I was afraid to open it because the title is somewhat misleading and you are not a regular poster here--but we hope you will be. Only opened it when I saw someone else did.

Wish I could offer you a plant suggestion but your zone is so different from mine that my garden experience is very different. Here, not many plants bloom profusely in the shade.