Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gail_ish

Weeds in the cottage garden (cross post from Weeds forum)

gail_ish
12 years ago

Hi all,

I've been battling the quack grass for 8 years now, so I finally bought 14" aluminum flashing at Lowe's & now I'm ready to bury it. Has anyone done this? Any tips about handling the aluminum without cutting yourself? How about trench digging tips? I also bought myself a square spade that is as flat as I could find, because I'm hoping to only have to dig out a trench a couple of inches wide (just enough to get the flashing down. I plan to move the logs that form my garden edging & put the flashing under that, towards the front of the garden so that when I put the edging back, the flashing is barely or not at all noticeable

Here's a pic:

{{gwi:676753}}

Any tips, advice or comments are welcome. I'm hoping the weekend will be nice enough for me to get started.

Cheers,

Gail

Comments (5)

• ianna
    12 years ago

I've not done this but I've seen aluminum edgers where I work. The one thing I had observed is how easily they do get bent if stepped on. They are used as edgers to little oasis in plazas or parkettes. I've not seen them used in a garden but then you can always give it a try and provide us with feed back.

To dig a trench -- perhaps you could begin with using a half-moon edging tool to just cut thru the soil, and then follow it up with your square spade. I find that square spades don't penetrate the soil as easily unless perhaps you sharpen it well (but I'm speculating).

I love your house by the way. Is it a heritage home? It looks like it's a pioneer type home.

• lavender_lass
    12 years ago