Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mangomoon_gw

When to plant annual seeds? Fall or Spring?

mangomoon
14 years ago

This has been bugging me for a long time. Should I be planting my annual cottage flower seeds after the danger of frost or should they be planted in the Fall? I ask because I most packet seeds will tell you after the last frost, but my neighbors who have cottage flowers already have blooms everywhere!

I live in a city that has a group that comes around and judges people's gardens. I am hoping to win this year, but they show up in June and my blooms should not be noticeable until late Summer, and my morning glory is not due to climb the trellis until late June.

Am I missing something? Is there something I am not doing right, therefore I am not keeping up with my Jones's for neighbors?

I have a neighbor that grows Bachelor Buttons year round and they never seem to die, when the seed packet says they show up in late Summer. I planted them last year and sure enough they showed up late Summer.

Comments (3)

• PRO
    Nell Jean
    14 years ago

Is your zone 24, Sunset zone? If so, does that mean you live in a year-round warm climate?

I can only tell you how annuals are treated in my garden.
    Poppies, larkspur, silene, cornflowers, sweet peas and some other half-hardy annuals that bloom in early spring are planted in November.

Summer annuals like zinnias, melampodium, Madagascar periwinkle and tithonia are planted any time after the last chance of frost has passed in the spring.

Biennials are planted by yet another formula that assures that they will grow this year, survive the winter and bloom the next spring.

Seed packet information is intended for some ideal garden in the upper midwest, or New England, or somewhere I don't know. You must plant where you're going to bloom, at a time determined by your climate.

Nell

• DYH
    14 years ago