Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
memo3

Wattle Fence

memo3
13 years ago

I trimmed all of my trees today and hauled all the trimmings to the compost dump. While there I saw some red twig dogwood branches all laying nicely in a pile. There was also a pile of Poplar branches. After I emptied my trailer I loaded up those other clippings and drug them home with me. I set to work turning a bed for my strawberries, it's just outside my kitchen door. Then I cut and cleaned all the branches and proceeded to build a wattle fence around the strawberry bed. It looks really cool because I did a few inches of the green poplar branches and then a couple inches of the red twig dogwood branches. I topped the red with another narrow layer of green poplar. Next I went back and trimmed all my little posts off so they are just about and inch and a half above the woven wattle. It looks sooo cool. I've never done one before. I actually had the presence of mind to take pictures! Sadly, I can't find my download cord. Darn it!! I'll re-post with a pic as soon as I find my cord.

MeMo

Comments (19)

• bonnys
    13 years ago

I am really looking forward to seeing your picture MeMo. I have wanted to build a wattle fence and would love to see what it should look like.

• tammyinwv
    13 years ago

Me to, i cant wait to see pics.
    Tammy

• organic_kitten
    13 years ago

Pictures Memo, pictures.

kay

• memo3
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Here it is...In progress

{{gwi:685101}}

Finished

{{gwi:685102}}

• Annie
    13 years ago

That is absolutely beautiful!
    Lovely, lovely, lovely.
    Very artistic.

Uh, one thing...if those stakes are green Poplars, you may end up have a "living fence". They root very easily.

~Annie

• organic_kitten
    13 years ago

What a beautiful thing to add to your garden. And you did it yourself!! Way to go, Memo. You shouls be proud.
    kay

• tammyinwv
    13 years ago

I agree, very beautiful, and very well done.
    Tammy

• memo3