Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
steveningen

Nicotiana 'Only the Lonely'

Steveningen
17 years ago

I can't recommend this nicotiana highly enough to all of you for both beauty and fragrance. Today was a scorcher with temps reaching near 100. Some things fried, but the heat seemed to have kicked my two plants into high gear. It's still warm outside at 10:00 p.m. as I write this and the fragrance is amazing, filling the entire yard. The flower is gorgeous too, forming a spray of white tubes at the top of beautifully formed folliage. This would be a great choice for people looking to add tall whites to catch the moonlight. Check out the link for a pic.

Of course, when the reseed next year (which I understand they do in profusion), I may be complaining about pulling up so many seedlings. But today, I love it.

Comments (25)

• gurley157fs
    17 years ago

I don't see a link. Try again?

• fammsimm
    17 years ago

This is my first year with Nicotiana ( courtesy of last year's seed swap) and I am loving it, too. It's holding up well against the TX sun,heat and drought.

I hope it's a prolific re-seeder, because I would love to have more next year.

Marilyn

• tracm
    17 years ago

Me too!! This is my first year and have two Nicotiana's that I started from seed and they are heavenly. I just cut some and put them in a vase in my kitchen. I love their fragrance. Thanks, Steven for the tip that they reseed. My back yard is stuffed with various plants and I can't imagine having a ton of Nico's next year. I will keep my eye out for seedlings.

• hedgwytch
    17 years ago

I have N. Alata and love it. I was able to divide mine once they started coming back up. It's a die to the ground perennial in OK and is very heat-tolerant. Everything that I divided and moved early this spring has developed into nice-sized clumps and blooming! I have beeen thrilled with this plant. I will be including seeds of it in the CG swap!

HW

• flutterby81
    17 years ago