Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
schoolhouse_gw

Mis-labeled plants at nursery

schoolhouse_gw
13 years ago

Not sure if this should be in Conversations or here but...

I bought two Cup and Saucer Bellflower plants (Campanula medium)at a nursery. Later when the nursery began their sales I returned and bought two more and was so excited to see them bloom. Well - the first two have bloomed and are definitely Delphiniums.Ugh. Yes, pretty but not what I wanted in this space. The other two still have tight buds and are growing taller.

All four had the same tag with pics of what is clearly bellflowers on tall stalks. and yes I saw Delphiniums in trays near them with their respective tags; made sure I didn't buy those. The leaves look the same and I've had no experience growing either of these flowers but are familiar with them. I grow the Cup/Saucer vine up on the porch regularly but never have even seen the tall bellflower in person.

Long story short, I called the nursery and she said "It happens, people switch tags". On ALL the Campanulas mediums(there were many the first time I shopped)? I told her I was calling as a FYI, but also was very disappointed. She said her manager would call me back. Should I expect at least a credit? or just let it go as Buyers Beware?

Comments (8)

• ianna
    13 years ago

Absolutely you should take the plant and with the pot back to them. You have at least to try.

A decent nursery will offer you the right plant -- if they expect you to be a regular customer.

I once bought a seed packet which turned out to flowers that didn't reflect the plant on the picture (I wanted a peony poppy and got a regular poppy). Not only did the company apologize, they sent me a replacement packet.

• natal
    13 years ago

A friend told me about a nursery visit where she witnessed a young child switching markers on tomato plants. Getting the wrong tomato would tick me off more than the wrong flower.

• schoolhouse_gw
    Original Author
    13 years ago