Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbiehavinfun

remind me that it's worth it

newbiehavinfun
13 years ago

My back! Oh, my aching back. DH and I are putting down layers of wet newspaper and mulch around the flowers in the front beds (it would have been a whole heck of a lot easier if we did it BEFORE planting, but hey, that's why I'm a newbie). Please tell me that it will be worth it not to have weeds all over during the summer.

Comments (10)

• deanna in ME Barely zone 6a, more like 5b
    13 years ago

It will be so worth it. I spent hours last year laying down landscaping tarp on large swaths of garden area and newspapers/cardboard around existing plants early last summer. It was so worth it. No weeds last summer (almost) and this summer they were pretty much dead from no sunshine, etc. for so long. I've actually pulled up all the tarp and done planting in soil full of dead weeds. What joy! What bliss!

It's so worth it. Take 800 mg of ibuprofen and call me in the morning!

• sprout_wi
    13 years ago

It's WORTH it- Absolutely!! I swear by the wet newspaper/mulch method. I have been using it for years. In fact, I prefer to put down the newspaper AFTER I have planted. It is much easier than having to bust through newspaper and soil, afterward. It's harder than it sounds. Some soil always gets back up on top of the paper and you end up with weeds, after all.

Just think how beautiful your gardens will be and how much time and weeding you have saved yourself. Good job. I can't wait to see photos of the finished product.
    -Sprout

• token28001
    13 years ago

I was going to say, mulching after planting is best. The soil you dig out always contains weed seeds and you get more weeds if you plant after mulching. And yes, it is worth it if weeds bother you. Personally, I just do a little weeding each day. It's part of my morning walk.

• newbiehavinfun
    Original Author
    13 years ago

token--