Return to the Cottage Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Evening Primrose - Weed or Flower?

Posted by quilt_mommy 5/6 NE Ohio (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 22, 09 at 21:59

Hi - I'm still relatively new to gardening, and I just discovered I have a couple of these (evening primroses) in my garden. About three years ago I bought some bee balm and something else that I can't remember from a lady in town who was thinning her garden. Unfortunately, the bee balm didn't seed, although I'd hoped they would, and the other I just can't remember for the life of me what it was! I'm wondering if this evening primrose could have been what I bought and planted back then...I remember it coming up last year, and I could't tell if it was a weed or a flower, so I potted one and kept it around for weeks, and I felt silly babying this thing that was probably a weed, so finally, I tossed it. I have no idea where it came from unless this was what I bought and I can't remember, or maybe some of the seeds were in the potted up plants I'd purchased from someone.

Do they go by any other name? If it IS from the plant I bought years ago, I'm sure it wasn't labeled as a primrose. **scratches head*** Lol*

Oh, and is it a weed after all??? LOL***

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Evening Primrose - Weed or Flower?

Depends on the cultivar....

Nancy.

o

If it's the pink variety that pops when you touch a ripe seed pod, it's a flowering weed.

o

It's not pink, but I sure wish it was!!! Weed or not! LOL* It's yellow, and it's kind of a stalk almost of yellow flowers...I'm thinking it's a weed...

Any idea of how invasive this could be in my Northeast Ohio garden?

o

Oenothera biennis?