Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thyme2dig2

This year I'm in love with.....

.....'Irish Eyes' Rudbeckia.

I know there are so many terrific plants each year to drool over but this one is knocking my socks off this year. I started them from seed (thanks for the seed CMK!!) just this past Feb and they are already blooming profusely and almost 2' tall. They continue to stand up straight and tall even after some heavy rains. I am very impressed and they're making quite a statement in the daylily border. It's my first year with them and I've been wondering where they have been my entire gardening life. I'll never be without them in the garden after seeing how well they perform.

{{gwi:275118}}

Please share with us what has your heart all a flutter this year and why. Pictures would be great!

Comments (17)

• deanna in ME Barely zone 6a, more like 5b
    12 years ago

Shasta daisy 'Banana Cream' is my current favorite. It isn't too tall so there is no flopping. The color is a beautiful soft yellow that is in between a soft lemon and a soft butter that starts out stronger and fades as it ages, and the flowers last a long time. Really enjoying it!

• gardenweed_z6a
    12 years ago

Ditto 'Irish Eyes' rudbeckia altho' mine bloomed 2nd year from seed and ditto 'Banana Cream' Shasta daisy--what an elegant color and nice size plant. I had to transplant mine this year to the front of the bed instead of behind the ladybells--how did I not notice the height when I planted it last year?

Winter sown Rudbeckia 'Irish Eyes'
    {{gwi:420501}}

H. Oriental Ruby
    {{gwi:417575}}

Winter sown Belamcanda chinensis/blackberry lily
    {{gwi:199151}}

Winter sown Gaura lindheimeri/wand flower
    {{gwi:199144}}

• natal
    12 years ago

...ornamental grasses. Hoping they all survive the winter and if not I'll buy more next year. Love the texture they add to beds.

Love Irish Eyes too! Mine are looking ragged right now. This is a single plant blooming in the veggie garden end of April.