Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ianna_gw

sweet peas

ianna
9 years ago

I had planted sweet peas in March-- and to this date no blooms and no signs that these would bloom. It's summer now but here in Ontario we've had a lot of rain and cool weather (between muggy hot weather).. so should I just give up:and pull out the plants. The vines are not yellowing and is still going strong.

What are your opinons/experiences this year about sweet peas?

Ianna

Comments (13)

• schoolhouse_gw
    9 years ago

I planted perennial sweet peas one Spring but didn't have blooms until the following year. I'm not that experienced with growing swt.peas so not sure if that is normal or not. My vines are now three years old and full of bloom, vigorous with no yellowing foliage. They are planted on the Eastern side of a small barn, get morning and mid-morning sun only.

As for annual swt.peas, I have never had much luck getting blooms before the plants succumb. Maybe a few blossoms on spindly stalks. And there are so many beautiful varieties I have a hard time resisting trying again every Spring. It could be the location where I plant them, but they either get too dry or become unhappy if I over-water. How is your soil? Did you start from seed or plants?

• ianna
    Original Author
    9 years ago

these are annuals and i normally get blooms by late spring. the strange weather patterns have affected the plants no doubt.

I start mine out from seeds which I would soak overnight for planting. I have clay soil but I've broken it up with compost. it's in fact great soil now.. Lots of good nutrients and water does not disappear too quickly.

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago

If the vines are healthy I would not pull them up. They still have the potential to bloom and I'm sure they will.

• User
    9 years ago

Hi ianna,