Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardengeek1

gladiolus dying

GardenGeek1
10 years ago

I don't know what is wrong with my gladiola plants. This is year two and last year they were stunning. This year several are dying off and I am not seeing any stalks forming yet (even on the ones that have remained "healthy"). There has been a nasty yellow fungus in my mulch. Is this the problem? Several of my plants including coreopsis and clematis are very sick. Help if you can. I'm still a novice gardener and don't know what to do about this. All plants are in year two and last year (drought year), they looked so much better!!

Comments (3)

• schoolhouse_gw
    10 years ago

Too much rain? did you over fertilize? For a couple years my anemones looked awful, gray, black blotches. Finally it dawned on me not to sprinkle so much Osmacote (sp?) around in the Spring. So I haven't since and they have recovered.

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    10 years ago

IME the fungus that grows in mulch doesn't bother plants since it is feeding on dead wood and isn't interested in live plants. Can you add a photo? Sometimes that can help diagnose a problem.

Some possibilities:
    Where are you? Much of the east coast and the upper midwest have gotten huge amounts of rain, and if your soil doesn't drain well, your plants may be suffering from being waterlogged.

Might you have voles, a type of rodent that tends to tunnel under snow, mulch, and shallowly in soil? Push gently against the soil around the sick plants and if it collapses in at least some places, vole damage is probably the problem. There are threads in the Hosta, Perennial, and New England Forums (and perhaps elsewhere) with discussions of voles.