Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
party_music50

Sea Holly - yay or nay?

party_music50
13 years ago

Years ago I traded for Globe Thistle seed, but what grew turned out to be Sea Holly. (surprise! :) My Sea Holly flowers every year but the flower color is usually uninspiring, and the flower stems tend to flop over because of the weight of the flowers.

I just cut the flower stems off one clump to see how they dry. I've never tried that before. Without the flowers, the foliage of the plant doesn't do much for me.

Do I just have dud plants grown from seed? or is it because my plants aren't in 100% sun? Is Sea Holly a good plant in your garden? I'm about to give up on mine, but wonder if I'm just missing something.

Comments (8)

• christinmk z5b eastern WA
    13 years ago

I have had my E. planum 'Jade Frost' for three years now and am not terribly impressed. The variegated folaige is interesting early on, but like yours the stems always flop to the ground and need staking. The spot I put it is very harsh though, what with all the nearby tree roots and hard packed soil.
    Also bought E. planum 'Blue Hobbit' a year ago. Can't tell much about it yet, especially since I had to move it (thankfully didn't disturb the tap root any!).

There is a local park/garden that has E. alpinum. It is lovely and stays upright fine.

Is your soil very rich? That is often an anwer when certain plants flop. Some need poor soil to stand upright. Strange but true! Or maybe too much water or poor-draining soil even??
    CMK

• ianna
    13 years ago

it's what you pair it up with which makes this plant interesting. I think you should give it a chance.

• sprout_wi
    13 years ago

I know that Sedum flops if it is not in the sun. Maybe the same is true of Sea Holly.

Are the flowers and foliage on your plant a blue color? I have paired mine with Crocosmia "Lucifer", in the past and the combination is stunning.

-Sprout

Here is a link that might be useful: Crocosmia

• party_music50