Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maeflower_gw

what is this gorgeous shrub???

Maeflower
15 years ago

I have been driving by this wonderful shrub for a couple of years now at a local business. I am unsure what type of shrub it is but I do know for sure I need one. Can anyone tell me it's name?? Actually, after looking at the picture it might be to big! Oh no! Anyway, I think it is beautiful.

Comments (22)

• PRO
    Nell Jean
    15 years ago

It's a crape myrtle, and they come in all sizes, from dwarf to 30 foot trees.

In your climate, they may die to the ground every winter, so they may not grow that big.

Nell

• midnightsmum (Z4, ON)
    15 years ago

Are the leaves heart shaped? When did it bloom - last week? It may be a late-blooming lilac. I have seen them locally here, and am trying to track them down. I go by the home of one of the Dominion Arboretum's leading lilac breeders and there is something like that in his yard. It was a month or so ago, though. Let me if any of this sounds right.

Nancy.

• davisgard
    15 years ago

I, too, think it is a crape myrtle. They grow as shrubs or can be trained to become small trees. They come in pinks, purples, and red and bloom through the summer. They are very common here in California--they stand up to extreme heat very well. But we get no snow and little frost--as foxesearth said, they might behave differently in your climate.

• natvtxn
    15 years ago

That is probably the prettiest crepe myrtle I have ever seen!
    Like my vitex, I think I will cut mine to the ground each winter. I do it after it goes dormant.

• libbyshome
    15 years ago

"Crape myrtles are among the toughest, most adaptable, and showiest plants that can be grown on Texas landscapes. The dark green leaves often turn orange or red in fall. Sometimes called "the Lilac of the South", and "perhaps the most beautifully branching flowering tree in the world."