Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
honnat

Bloom Morning Glories BLOOM!!

honnat
13 years ago

I think someone had a post on here about their morning glories being slow to get started. Well my mix of "early call" (early??), and moon flower are HUGE; but they're not blooming. This is my first year starting them. Is this normal? p.s. -the blooms you do see are not glories - they are impatiens....

Comments (18)

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA
    13 years ago

Have they been fertilized, or has the lawn beneath them been fertilized?

• honnat
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Nope. No fertilizer has touched these. I didn't even mix anything into the soil when I planted them. I just loosened things up and stuck in the seed pots. I head they didn't like fertilizer right? They get sun almost the whole day. To give some perspective, the neighbors house is just south of me; so these are basically south facing and get 7+ hours of sun per day. I'm thinking it is more weather related. We had lots of rainy days in June and July and then had some scorching heat in August. Maybe that's why? Now things have cooled and dried off; so I'm hoping for blooms before frost.

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA
    13 years ago

honnat, I was going to be amazed that without fertilizer they haven't bloomed, because here at our house, we've had blistering sun and heat and no rain. But if you had a lot of rainy weather, that might be it. Such a shame! Moonflower is notorious for blooming very late. I have stopped growing it because I barely see a bloom before frost. But the morning glories should be blooming by now. Do you have any flower buds at least?

• Lilyfinch z9a Murrieta Ca
    13 years ago

I dont have any insight to the problem, but i wanted to say they sure covered your fence nicely! And when they bloom it will be spectacular. I meant to do it to my chainlink as well...along with a million other things i never did! When is your first frost in zone 4?

• Oakley
    13 years ago