Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mtnrdredux_gw

Hurricane Prep

mtnrdredux_gw
12 years ago

I am a newbie gardener.

I have a question about my vegetable garden. I just planted some bush beans I had started from seed. They are about 10"+ high, in raised beds in a fenced garden.

We may see a hurricane along the coast here (im about 12-15 miles from the coast). Is there anything I can or should do to protect my veggie garden?

Comments (12)

• natal
    12 years ago

Take anything that could become a projectile in your yard and move it to a shed or garage. As for the garden ... hope for the best. If I remember correctly your garden has privacy fencing on a couple sides. That might help break the wind a bit. I'll never forget Hurricane Andrew. He made a mess of our yard and veggie garden. We cleaned up for days.

• mtnrdredux_gw
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Goodness, I can't believe you remembered my garden. Yes, its a wood fence on three sides and deer fenced on one side (prior owner did this, I think for the views in and out?).

Thanks for your advice, certainly makes sense.

• louisianagal
    12 years ago