Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
natal_gw

Agastache favorites?

natal
13 years ago

On the "one plant that has really WOW'd" thread Cameron mentioned a couple agastaches. Made me realize it was time to update my new additions for 2011 list to include a few. I'll probably place an order with Lazy S's Farm late winter so I'm starting to fill my wish list now.

I'd love to know your favorites!

Comments (19)

• scottyboipdx
    13 years ago

Hmmm...that's a tough one...I have a few that are recently planted, so won't really know how they do until next year. For this year, though, I'd have to say I'm loving Golden Jubilee, Summer Sky and plain-old Rupestris, great, great plants!

• ogrose_tx
    13 years ago

This is a great thread idea. I have never grown them, always wanted to, more ideas, please!

• neverenoughflowers
    13 years ago

This is my first year with Agastache Pink Pop which I wintersowed. It has a lovely fragrance and the flowers have been in bloom for over a month. They are about 24" high and don't seem to be bothered by any pests. The butterflies seem to like them.

I really hope to grow more varieties next year if I can find the room.

• roper2008
    13 years ago

My favorite one so far is Agastache Sunset Hyssop. It's prettier than
    Tutti Frutti.

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA
    13 years ago

Can you take cuttings of Agastache, or do you collect seed, or divide?

• totallyconfused
    13 years ago

I had read somewhere that Blue Fortune was one of the few that could survive east coast winters, so that's the one I bought. I can't say I'm overly impressed with the color (it looks sort of grayish in my garden most of the time), but it attracts so many butterflies and bees that I guess I'll be keeping it if it makes it through the winter. I was also impressed that it was able to right itself fairly well after being flattened by a pounding rain. So many of my plants are sprawled on the ground this year.

Totally Confused

• natal
    Original Author