Return to the Cottage Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Agastache favorites?

Posted by natal Louisiana 8b (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 16, 10 at 14:14

On the "one plant that has really WOW'd" thread Cameron mentioned a couple agastaches. Made me realize it was time to update my new additions for 2011 list to include a few. I'll probably place an order with Lazy S's Farm late winter so I'm starting to fill my wish list now.

I'd love to know your favorites!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Agastache favorites?

Hmmm...that's a tough one...I have a few that are recently planted, so won't really know how they do until next year. For this year, though, I'd have to say I'm loving Golden Jubilee, Summer Sky and plain-old Rupestris, great, great plants!

o

This is a great thread idea. I have never grown them, always wanted to, more ideas, please!

o

This is my first year with Agastache Pink Pop which I wintersowed. It has a lovely fragrance and the flowers have been in bloom for over a month. They are about 24" high and don't seem to be bothered by any pests. The butterflies seem to like them.

I really hope to grow more varieties next year if I can find the room.

o

My favorite one so far is Agastache Sunset Hyssop. It's prettier than
Tutti Frutti.

o

Natal - in my zone 7b garden...

longest blooming 'Cotton Candy'
best show in midsummer is 'Salmon & Pink'
best purple is 'Black Adder'
most intense pink is 'Heatwave'

I love so many, it's difficult to pick just one!

Cameron

Here is a link that might be useful: Agastache for August Blooms

o

Can you take cuttings of Agastache, or do you collect seed, or divide?

o