Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
louisianagal

need latest on hand cleaner

louisianagal
13 years ago

Look, I am a nurse. I scrub my hands. They still look dirty. They are actually stained. I wear gloves, but how do I still get dirty? The end of the glove tears or I start some gardening chore before I realize it I'm dirty.

I need clean hands and nails. What is the best product in your opinion?

Comments (10)

• bev2009
    13 years ago

I find it is helpful to put hand lotion on before I go into the garden. The lotion gets into the tiny cracks in the skin and the dirt seems to stay out more.

• hosenemesis
    13 years ago

I use mineral oil when they get really bad, and then scrub with an emery board.
    Renee

• gldno1
    13 years ago

When we had the dairy, I wore blue nitrile gloves to milk. They work so well, I continued to wear them outside under my stretch gardening gloves. You will get sweaty but if no grime is your goal they sure do work.

• lavender_lass
    13 years ago

Well nobody is going to want to do this (especially with all the hot weather) but the best thing I've found is to do a sinkful of dishes. If I don't feel like washing dirty dishes, I wash my wine glasses or china...just to give them a sparkle. Soaking your hands in dishwater seems to do the trick...and my dishes look better, too :)

• schoolhouse_gw
    13 years ago

Lemon juice is great for removing stains from hands and from under nails - use a nail brush. But for a couple of years I've been using a bar of soap especially for gardeners that I buy at a local nursery. It's expensive, $4.50 - $5 a bar. Works much like Lava soap probably, much nicer smell though.
    I can not remember the name of it, but I bet if you Google "Gardener's Soap" you'll find something.

• Pat z6 MI
    13 years ago