Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
minal_gw

daffodils bulb planting

shabbu
12 years ago

Hello, I am planning to plant some daffodil bulbs in my small flower bed this Oct. I am completely new to this and had a basic question.

Right now I have Zinnias growing in the flower bed. So once the Zinnias are gone, I will remove them and plant the daffodils which I assume will bloom between Feb-May next year. Once the daffodils are dried, can I just leave the bulbs in the same place and then put in my zinnia plants, or do I leave that area alone. I just wouldnt want that flower bed to be bare in the summer, with nothing growing in it.

Any comments or suggestions welcome, as this is my first time considering planting bulbs. thanks.

Comments (5)

• docmom_gw
    12 years ago

You can definitely plant something over the daffodil bulbs. It could be either an annual or a perennial that would bloom later than the daffodil and would cover up the foliage from the bulbs as they fade. You can do this with any spring blooming bulbs.

Martha

• shabbu
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Great!!. So I will leave the daffodils in the soil and go ahead and plant my zinnia plants in the same place. I am assuming I wont be able to till the area too much, as it may damage the bulbs. Maybe I will loosen the soil with a spade. Can you recommend a good place to buy daffodils online?

• janroze
    12 years ago

Brett & Nora Mulder of Orange City Iowa at http://tuliptownbulbs.com/order.html

I see they carry Dutch Master Daffodils. Their predecessor had King Alfred. Both are yellow. I planted KA years ago and they still come up - don't know about the reliability of DM. I had no luck with many other fancy Daffys, but we are on clay.
    They bloom just before the tulips here along with forsythia and my blue grape hyacinths - end of April to first part of May.