Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
louisianagal

silly topic -- do you ruin shoes???

louisianagal
14 years ago

I have a pair of garden clogs and a pair of spiffy "rain" boots for muddy or rainy times.....but I still manage to ruin most of my shoes!

I come home from work (I'm a nurse) and I'm in my scrubs and a running/walking shoe and I just start in on weeding, or mowing or whatever. Invariably I get clay on my shoes, or like today, green grass stains. I've ruined several running/walking shoes and sandals that I've gotten wet again and again over the years. I just don't take the time to get properly outfitted for the garden. I do wash them of course, but they do not remain in good condition for long.

I'm not going to even mention my hands and nails.

Laurie

Comments (38)

• girlgroupgirl
    14 years ago

Yes. And I have big o'l darned feet so my shoes cost a fortune. Right now I'm wearing Simple Shoes brand a lot, I can throw them in the washing machine - I don't have a job that I have to wear any kind of fancy footwear...and now I have to wear wider shoes than I am used to (I have incredibly narrow feet) as my arch supports are really kind of wide (at least they work). Washable shoes have saved me the last year or so... clogs are too wide and not enough support, I can't wear shoes that tie on top (high arches)...so I am very thankful that I found large size washables that are lasting!!!

• Lilyfinch z9a Murrieta Ca
    14 years ago

Lol i ruin my shoes every year! I do the same thing, get caught up in something and thats the end of that! I did accidentally discover that powerwashing your shoes will make them white as can be! :)

• phonegirl
    14 years ago