Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redthistle

Definition of a Cottage Garden

Redthistle
15 years ago

Before I even had any idea of what a cottage garden was, I always knew I liked the slightly wild look of a garden that I would describe as rambling and without a lot of pretense/rules. While plants in neat rows were pretty, I was never drawn to them as much as to a carefree garden with surprise plantings that did as it pleased or at least appeared to.

I've been working to create a cottage garden since 2001, but back then, I didn't know that was what I wanted. In 2003, I finally realized what my garden wanted to be or rather what I wanted it to be. :-)

So, I just looked up the definition of a cottage garden in the FAQs for this site, and I pretty much agree with it.

In 2003, I attended a Cottage Garden conference. Recently, while scouring the web for anything related to "Texas Cottage Gardens" I came across this article, which was from that conference:

http://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/southerngarden/Cottagedesign.html

The article gives me pause, and I wanted to know your thoughts on it. Specifically, the article's author hints/impies that a REAL cottage garden should have a humble cottage to go with it, otherwise it's just a cottage garden-wannabe. I'm not sure I agree with this.

I think most suburban homes don't look anything like humble cottages with their garage in the front. Similarly, a stately Victorian isn't exactly humble either. Is a ranch-style home humble? Do we absolutely have to live in a cottage to have a cottage garden? I think this is a bit anal, but wanted your reaction.