Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tkhooper

Cottage Garden vs. Specimen Garden

tkhooper
13 years ago

I'm still pretty new to gardening. So, I was wondering what the difference between a specimen garden and a cottage garden would be. I thought I wanted a specimen garden but I love the gardens here and would like to have one like it. I would appreciate your input.

Comments (9)

• ginny12
    13 years ago

Please tell us what you mean by a specimen garden. I have never heard that term in many years of gardening.

• seamommy
    13 years ago

I think of a specimen garden as one where featured plants, such as a large sago palm or very old, rare tree would be the centerpiece of a garden area. Like plants or like species would be grouped together with labels identifying them, their, Latin names, common name(s), origins, and historical significance. It would be a somewhat staid and dignified place where you might visit to educate yourself.

When I think of a cottage garden my mind swims with a joyous riot of colors, textures and scents. The tomatoes are mixed among the daisies and frog fruit. The paths are edged with lavender and verbena grows underfoot. I imagine a low stone wall there will be scented geraneums tumbling over the top of it. Plants essential to a cottage garden include roses, hollyhocks, daisies, lilies, tall phlox, iris, salvias and all the most common, old fashioned flowering plants. A cottage garden will be thronged during daylight hours with bees, butterflies, and hummingbirds. The cottage garden contains comfortable seating areas where one can rest and contemplate and appreciate the pure sweetness of it. Cheryl

• ogrose_tx
    13 years ago

When I think of a specimen garden I think of, for example, a rose garden per se, only roses, lined up like little soldiers. To me a cottage garden means a mixture of plants that I like, wherever I like, whatever makes me happy!

• countrycarolyn
    13 years ago