Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
camaria

Building my Irish Shed

camaria
15 years ago

Hi everyone,

I've been admiring all the lovely garden and shed pictures here and thought I'd throw in my newly completed project. This summer, my husband was set on buying a vinyl storage shed (as I have a terrible habit of storing and using power tools in our unfinished basement. You wouldn't believe how hard it is to tow a table saw upstairs and outside every time you need to use it!) I somehow convinced him to go another route and built a cordwood shed with me.

I've always been interested in cordwood building and just happened to find a book on building sheds with a cordwood masonry project in it. Poor hubby's dreams of lazy summer weekends were done for! Anyways, we got it all finished and I'm just proud as punch with the results. Had to share!

{{gwi:302897}}

Best window I've ever built! (I've never built a window before this)

{{gwi:302900}}

{{gwi:302903}}

First wall took an entire weekend to fill in. We did the back wall first so that we'd be all practiced up by the time we got to the front!

{{gwi:302906}}

{{gwi:302909}}

View from the wildflower meadow.

{{gwi:302914}}

Stained glass window made of coloured jars.

Comments (33)

• todancewithwolves
    15 years ago

Well, that is the MOST beautiful Irish shed I have ever seen. I would live in it. Watch out for the fairy folk.

Edna

• PRO
    Nell Jean
    15 years ago

And a fine Irish Shed 'tis.

I believe the first glimpse we saw of the shed, you had made another little annoucement. How are you doing?

Nell

• camaria
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Nell,

What an amazing memory you have! I forgot I even made that announcement! I'm eight months along now and baby and I are happy and healthy so far! (Both of us are glad to be done with big buildiing projects!) Looks like January 15 will be the big day, so who knows, could be a new years baby if he/she comes early. How sweet of you to ask!

• schoolhouse_gw