Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
traceyg_gw

candle wicks advice please

traceyg
17 years ago

i am just starting out candle making, and bought my first kit but i haven't got a clue what wicks to buy or what moulds to buy, any advise you could give me on starting up would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Tracey g

Comments (2)

• corar4gw
    17 years ago

Hi, Tracey. First, what sort of "kit" did you buy that had no info regarding wicks or molds? Sounds incomplete to me. That said, there are on-line tutorials. Candlewik.com is one. They're located in PA and are very prompt about answering questions. If you are using gel wax, you will want to use a zinc core wick with a long neck clip on the bottom. The long neck keeps the wick from burning down to the glass container and perhaps causing it to break.
    Other waxes use other types of wicks. Also, a lot of candles are not made in molds but are in containers.
    If your craft store doesn't carry books on candle making, do go to your library. They have tons of craft books. Just try to get one that's been published in the past couple of years so there will be info on the newest products and techniques.
    My own personal tips: NEVER try to melt candle wax in the microwave no matter what the label says. Also, never melt the wax directly over the heat source. ALWAYS use the double boiler method. That is, put the wax in one pot then place THAT pot in another pot that has water in it. As the water heats, it will cause the wax to melt in the inner pot. ALWAYS use a wax thermometer. The last thing you need is a pot of flaming wax. Which is why I always have a BIG open box of baking soda on the counter when I'm making candles. So far, I've never had to use it, but one never knows.....
    So - read up on candle making, check out the web sites. The more you learn, the more you'll want to know - and make!
    cora

• jasmineflower
    16 years ago