Return to the Garden & Flower Crafts Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
concrete mushrooms

Posted by tlb2005 (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 31, 07 at 15:27

Not sure if this is the correct forum.....sorry if it is not......

I think I might try to make these but I need to know what types of bowls would be better to use. Plastic, metal, or what??

After is has dried, does the concrete just "pop out" of the bowl? Should I do something to prepare the bowl first?

Can I use styrofoam cups for the stems?

What kind of concrete to use? Kwikcrete?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: concrete mushrooms

I have been looking and studying this website (garden junk hypertufa-etc.) for a while, taking in all of the information that I could find.
I have now took up mushroom making, while Im not an expert on this or anything I will tell you what I have tried and what I like best. And mind you that I am cheap, and try to do this with a lot less effort or money.

1. I like plastic the best of all; its easy to use and easy to clean up.

2. Ive read to use PAM, armorall, Vaseline, and others as a release agent. I used PAM for a while, and it works well, but it is to pricy to spray on plastic. I tried the off brand from the Dollar Tree and it was just a big mess. I have now taken cooking oil and put it in a spray bottle, and it works fine.

3. I do not know if Styrofoam will work. I went to the flea market and purchased some plastic cups (Hardees, Burger King, and McDonalds) from a vendor for about 2 bucks for 30. You will need to spray them also. Note: Do not fill the all of the way up. I leave about to of an inch at the top. I leave it 24 hours and the turn upside down and hit it on the table and it slides right out.