Return to the Garden & Flower Crafts Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Anyone Into Macrame???

Posted by tropicalfreak z10b Hollywood (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 7, 06 at 17:18

curious if anyone can recommend books and videos for learning how to macrame?
thanks,cliff

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Anyone Into Macrame???

My daughter just got a kit for making friendship bracelets and I quickly realized that the stitches were actually macrame stitches! It came with a really nice booklet that had lots and lots of easy to follow patterns in it.

o

I have a lot of experience, but I havent done it in years. I got books at the library and made planter hangers, belts and wall hangings in the 1970's. I could do it from memory. Any Q's? Most of it can be done using square knots. Willie Nelson has a guitar strap that is made from half-hitches using red white and blue cord. I have always admired it and plan to copy it. Robin in NC

o

This is slightly off the subject, but I am having a difficult time finding a pattern I need and posted this in the hopes someone would know -

would anyone know where I might find a macrema pattern to hang a basket off a walker? There is a center bar horizontal, that is a perfect starting point.

I can't find a pattern searching macrame, then thought maybe someone knows of an organization that might have patterns like that.

Thanks for any thoughts.

Melissa

o

Tropicalfreak, Did you ever find out what you wanted to know?
Here is an awesome site! http://www.free-macrame-patterns.com/learn-macrame.html Just copy & paste. :)
Gosh I just realized this was from 2006!!! I am getting back into macrame & I'm starting with a lawn chair. Then I want to make a purse and a 3 section room divider. My mom gave me a metal frame & it's just waiting for something to be done to it, this winter.

o