Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mtilton_gw

Cyathea Cooperi problems

mtilton
19 years ago

I'm new to growing ferns and I was hoping someone could tell me what's wrong with my cyathea cooperi.

It was like this before I put it into a new pot with good drainage and soaked the soil well yesterday. It still hasn't recovered. Please tell me if I should mist the leaves occasionally until it recovers or to help it recover.

The leaves are still green but with a brownish tinge to them. Thank you in advance.

Here are two pictures of my Cyathea Cooperi.

Comments (10)

• deeproots
    19 years ago

looks like the plant was either too dry at one point or some roots were damaged.
    I'd wait until new growth resumes and than remove the damaged foliage.
    Make sure to keep it moist but not saturated until it starts growing again.

dp

• stephenpope2000uk
    19 years ago

It's midwinter. Cold, dark, short daylengths. Cyathea cooperi is a Queensland sub-tropical tree fern that just wants to keep growing - except we seldom have the resources to make that possible in our winter climate. This fern is stalled, in effect, and is stressed. The last thing it needs is drastic over-potting, as in the picture, and soaking! You'll lose even more fronds. My advice is to more accurately simulate the parameters that trigger growth - high light for photosynthesis, long daylight period, sufficiently high temperatures for metabolizing nutrient, high atmospheric humidity, etc. My guess is you're not giving it enough light relative to the high indoor indoor temperatures you're keeping it in.

Sickly midwinter ferns never benefit from piling on more compost, fertilizer and water. And winter is a bad time to acquire them.

Steve - Brighton, Sussex, UK

• stephenpope2000uk
    19 years ago

A few more thoughts...