Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adamm321

What is your favorite fern and why?

AdamM321
19 years ago

Hi,

Thought some of you might enjoy telling me about what your favorite fern is. I only have two in my yard. A sensitive fern, and an unidentified fern that I planted about 10 years ago and forget what it is. I thought I might expand my horizons.

:-)

Adam

Comments (26)

• deeproots
    19 years ago

Geez, nearly any Adiantum tenerum or raddianum...
    fav cultivars are 'gracillimum, 'fritz luthii, and of course 'Farleyense. finally got some numbers of farleyense (bout 200 of em) so should have a good 8inch basket crop next year, that'll be good for a few glam shots.

anywho...
    dp

• Just1LittlePosey
    19 years ago

I have little experience with ferns, though my appreciation of them is growing. I often tell myself I better start liking them more given that my yard is predominantly shaded and the deer eat everything on my 1-acre parcel save the chalk my children leave on the driveway! More to your question: I planted a few Japanese painted ferns which grow fuller -- and prettier each year. Also, I dream of planting a thick flock of Maidenhair ferns beneath a cluster of cedar trees, as I once saw pictured in a magazine. One fern at a time...!

• wayner2000
    19 years ago

Hi, my favourite fern is the Japanese painted fern. It is my favourite because of it's unique colouring.....I love ferns of all varieties. Wayne

• marquest
    19 years ago

Adam, We are close in zone and what has worked good for me and I liked them are...

Autumn Fern (Dryopteris erythrosora)- I went for a walk today and it is standing tall and green after being buried in snow for 6 weeks.

Christmas Fern (Polystichum acrostichoides)- Stays green all winter makes a nice dark green clump.

Japanese Painted Fern (Athyrium niponicum 'Pictum')- Last to rise in spring but worth the wait. Beutiful color.

• Aaron_UK
    19 years ago