Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skier1947_gw

staghorn fern care

skier1947
19 years ago

I was given a staghorn fern mounted on a piece of wood..no instructions for care were included..it will hang on a wall with lots of indirect light..how do you feed it and how much water???

it's really a nice plant and I want it to live!!

Comments (12)

• katykelly_gw
    19 years ago

I have an elkhorn and I would think they take similar conditions. I water twice a week with rain water. I soak it in a tupperware dish and use a turkey injecter to get water into the spag. Fertilize with fish emulsion every 3 months. I'm no expert, but mine is thriving.

• elvis
    19 years ago

I've had mine several years. I soak it up to its 'neck' in a bucket of tepid water overnight, then hang over the bucket to drain for half a day or so before re-hanging in its spot, which is on the greenhouse wall in very bright indirect light. A couple of times a month I add Miracid and Superthrive to the water.

• Lauren Clear
    18 years ago

I have a staghorn fern for several years, but I potted it up, and the thing surrounded the rim of the pot and sealed itself in there. I leave it outside in the nice weather and don't do anything to it. It grows and grows. Enjoy.

• prinderle_embarqmail_com
    16 years ago

Bananas! My Mother, in San Diego, has a gigantic staghorn and the only thing she feeds it is bananas! It got so large and heavy that it started to take down the wooden patio cover it was attached to!

I live in New Jersey and have a couple of it's babies. Any suggestions on indoor watering would be appreciated. Elvis's watering method sounds good but my little ones are so large that they are difficult to move around.

• kands52
    16 years ago