Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bassun

Chopped Moss vs Slurry Moss

bassun
14 years ago

Hello all -- I'm a novice to the whole moss game, and recently decided to fill in a rock ring beneath a massive Maple with moss. Long story short, I quickly discovered that transplanting that much moss is going to be a much more massive of an endeavor than I expected.

So, looking at options I think my best solution is to gather more ground loving moss locally and mass plant it via either the chopped or slurry method. As I understand it both are "viable" but success seems to mirror luck as much as proper application / preparation. So, the question is, which have you had the best success with? Please feel free to include solution specifics, IE chopped moss, but mixed in with a buttermilk-water-sugar solution vs just making it a slurry, etc.

I know each location is unique so if it helps, I am in the mountains of VA, natural PH is just below 7, but quick ammended w/ Miracle Grow (old Miracid mix). There is currently a short common ground moss for the area (I identified it a while back, but have forgotten the name now.) growing in a few places but has been battling weeds and grass, so the PH may be lower than my meter picked up. Either way, obviously it is sound for at least some mosses. I figured making it a little extra happy during the "migration" would be beneficial. Now, the area is completely cleared out (minus the patches of moss :D). Only the western and north western sides are getting direct sunlight currently, but will be mostly shaded as the rest of the leaves grow in. The same section is most impacted by the prevailing winds.

My current plan is four fold.

A) I plan to gather more ground mosses, and attempt "slurry's" matching as best I can the drier more sun loving varieties in the more lighted areas.