Return to the Moss, Ferns & Cryptogams Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
id moss??

Posted by archoo16 5b, MO (My Page) on
Fri, May 10, 13 at 8:59

Hi guys, Am a total newbie. I just wanted to make a moss tray for fun. This tray has two kinds, one I picked up from uder a tree in San Diego when I was visiting. I chopped it roughly and sprinkled it on a tray lined with potting mix, peat moss and bark. It is the small patch in the first picture.
 photo DSC_0550_zps3e1ae4c0.jpg

The next one I picked yesterday on the edge of the lawn in our apartment complex in Missouri. Its the greener more abundant one in the picture with globular capsules.

photo DSC_0551_zps6ffc8469.jpg

Thanks for any help.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: id moss??

Ok, I think the first one is homalothecium sericeum second one is Pseudephemerum nitidum, Come on, moss pros, what do you think?
 photo DSC_05532_zps470bd9e4.jpg

photo DSC_05512_zpsfe718bcd.jpg
I just googled and looked up moss with similar features. No idea abt what it is really is tho :P
Some one who knows what they are talking abt, plz id this.

This post was edited by archoo16 on Fri, May 10, 13 at 16:08

o

Nobody knows what these are?

o

The second one is in the genus Physcomitrium. Probably Physcomitrium pyriforme. I collected a lot of them on muddy river bank edges in Missouri last spring.

I am not sure about the first one. Mosses are a lot easier to identify if they have little sporophytes on them in addition to the leafy green mat. You might try the California moss Flora which is now online. http://ucjeps.berkeley.edu/CA_moss_eflora/

Here is a link that might be useful: Moss Plants and More

o

Thank you! I will.

And you are right, my moss looks more like pictures of Physcomitrium pyriforme. Thanks again.

This post was edited by archoo16 on Sun, May 26, 13 at 12:26

o
Red moss id?