Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shelley40026

Japanese Holly Fern in Zone 6

shelley40026
18 years ago

I am VERY new at this gardening thing. I just recieved a fern as a gift, and I THINK it is a Japanese Holly Fern. I have killed every house plant that I have ever owned. I do very well with vegetable gardening and have just planted my first flower bed one month ago. PLEASE any advise you can give about caring for this fern is welcome. It is so beautiful, and I don't want to kill it. Just got it yesterday. It is outside in the shade on my back deck. What now????? Thank you in advance for your help!

Comments (4)

• stonybrook
    18 years ago

The common name, Japanese Holly Fern, is normally used in reference to the species, Cyrtomium falcatum. It has escaped cultivation and can be found in 15 states and as far north as Ohio & NY. It will tolerate most types of soil from acidic to alkaline, but must be kept moist and not allowed to dry out between watering. Outdoors, the fronds persist throughout the winter, but are usually a crispy brown around the edges by springtime, if subjected to freezing temperatures. For year-around green foliage, it must be treated as a house plant. A cultivar that is usually available, is 'Rochfordianum'. Not many Garden Centers or other outlets sell the true species.

• knottyceltic
    18 years ago

You can see a photo of my holly fern on my webpage I just threw together this morning to show family some of my flowers and plants. Mouse-over the photos to see the names:

http://www.geocities.com/knottyceltic/BarbsGarden.html