Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laperouse

Planting leafed out ferns

laperouse
15 years ago

A friend of mine gave me some ferns that have already leafed out and I want to make sure that they survive till next year. I planted them with water polymers so they will be able to survive a dry spell (although I plan to remember to water them well all year). My question is whether I should cut off the foliage since they are lying down on the ground being very top-heavy and will they then grow new foliage this year?

Thanks - I'm pretty new to growing ferns.

Marianne

Comments (6)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    15 years ago

Short answer, it depends...

It depends primarily on the type of fern and the growing location.

If the ferns are in a location with a lot of sun, consider making a
    temporary shade for them.

Also, did you disturb the roots much during transplant?
    At this point in the season, I find it best to slide the whole root-ball
    out of the container, plop it into the pre-dug hole, and then fill the
    space around the root-ball with soil. I always stage some dry grass clippings
    or loose mulch around the fern's crown to provide additional shade
    during the transition period.

Josh

• laperouse
    Original Author
    15 years ago