Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
houstonpat

Angiopteris growing fast

houstonpat
15 years ago

With the onset of summer my Angiopteris is putting on fronds fast.

{{gwi:605368}}

Comments (12)

• greenlarry
    15 years ago

Nice crozier pic! What kind of fern is it?(I'm still learning the names of ferns)

• houstonpat
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks Larry,
    The plant's an Angiopteris evecta, or Mule's foot fern. It's in a class of very primative tropical ferns that require constant moisture and host microbes on their roots that extract nitrogen from the air making it available to the plant. They can get huge under prefect growing conditions. Below is a photo from Manoa Valley on Oahu where they have become invasive. Though I consider a pretty weed.

{{gwi:605370}}

• greenlarry
    15 years ago

Thats a cool looking fern,big too!

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    15 years ago

That is a wonderful fern! I love giant ferns!

My grandpa lives in Ka'aawa, on O'ahu...I love that side of the island.

Josh

• houstonpat
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Yeah Josh Ka'aawa is nice. I wonder if the trail to Sacred Falls is still closed? That place was one of my favorite hikes when I lived on Oahu in the 70s.

• garyfla_gw
    15 years ago

Hi
    Have always wanted one of those but what if it actually grew ??lol My entire grow area is only 35x75 .lol
    gary

• houstonpat
    Original Author
    15 years ago