Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeff_shaw_gw

grass in moss garden

jeff_shaw
16 years ago

I have a customer with a very nice moss garden however the lawn company they have over seeded the lawn areas and seeded the moss garden as well. The question is how to remove the grass which is established now. I have been told to use sulfur as it should kill the grass but not the moss. I am not sure how to use this or if it would be affective. Anyone with ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (10)

• veilchen
    16 years ago

I don't think sulfur would kill the grass.

I am by no means an expert on moss gardens and have only just begun one myself last year. But I think I heard you can spray roundup and it will kill plants but not moss? Please look into this before taking my advice if no one else comments.

• andee_gw
    16 years ago

How strange that I would come to this forum after a few years to find your message. The same thing happened to me and I posted here. I'll copy some of the relevant replies below. First, part of my backyard moss yard was transitional, in that some of it was getting too much sun and so was plagued with some weeds and grasslets that I was hand-weeding when the "tragedy" struck. The other part was doing fairly well except for squirrel activity which kept the moss scuffed up. In the end, the lawn company sprayed the yard with Roundup, which killed almost everything. Although the grass died, so did most of the moss although you could tell moss once lived there. This was in Sept. 04. It has never really recovered. On the other hand, I have not spent any time babying it back, and the part that was transitional anyway, is a worse mess than ever. I'm trying to grow vinca there now. The part that was the prettiest is finally starting to recover some, but we've had dry weather the last couple of summers.
    Here are a few comments that I received from my post: