Return to the Moss, Ferns & Cryptogams Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
tree fern

Posted by spudbaz (My Page) on
Sun, Oct 8, 06 at 16:02

I purchased a 3ft tree fern this summer and now it is getting cooler I am worried about how to protect it from the frost this winter
I know I have to wrap it up in fleece and fill the centre with straw to prevent the cold from getting into it but when do I do this
at present it still has all its branches/leaves so do I have to remove these and cut it back to the trunk or do I wait a while for it to die back
I live in the UK and the winter feels like it is fast aproaching

any advice will be greatfully received

Baz

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: tree fern

You know I don't think you should cut it down like that. I'm in central CA and part of mine died back and I just cut off the part of the frond that did die. I think if you radically cut it to the trunk you'd hurt it. I'm not an expert and I'm not in the UK certainly, but his is a good question. What kind of tree fern do you have? I have an Australian Tree Fern. Actually they shouldn't even sell it in my zone, it's not supposed to grow here and shouldn't even be making it through a winter at all! I'll look around further and see if I can't find some info for both, but do you know what particular kind of tree fern do you have? Leslie

o

just had a look and it is a Tasmanian tree fern
Baz

o

Baz, I found a web site for you dealing with your fern! Go to www.ubcbotanicalgarden.org and in the search area type in tazmanian tree fern just like that and up comes a thread on how to prepare it for winter and if you have any questions you can become a member without cost and ask them questions or they even give you a number to call and ask questions! How's that!! I really hope that helps you out, guess you are on the right track from what I read on their site!:) Leslie

o

thanks so much Leslie I shall hop over there and take a look
thanks again
Baz

o