Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
junktojewels

Growing Moss

junktojewels
20 years ago

I'm new to this idea, but I really want to do it--grow moss in my yard. I do have shady spots, but I don't know how shady it needs to be. I'd appreciate any help getting started please. Also, I heard a recipe for growing moss faster by mixing it with yogurt and smeering in on a rock. I didn't get the details, so has anyone had any luck with this?

Comments (46)

• sleeplessinftwayne
    20 years ago

That's a version of the blender and buttermilk method. I haven't used the yogurt but it will probably do as well. The idea is to chop the moss up enough to cover a large area. The buttermilk (or yogurt) and water supply nutrients and moisture to get the moss started. Put chunks of the moss in some water in the blender and chop it up enough you can spread it with a big brush. Mix it with the rest of the water and the buttermilk. Use one cup shredded moss, one quart water and one quart buttermilk. Keep it moist until it starts growing. Works best in late spring or early summer.-Sandy

• waplummer
    20 years ago
  • junktojewels
    Original Author
    20 years ago

Thanks a bunch. Do you have suggestions on where to get moss for this project and what conditions (moisture, light, soil, etc) are best for growing?

• sleeplessinftwayne
    20 years ago

I've been searching moss spores on Google and there are a number of sources there but unless you want to spend a huge amount on plants try looking around any wet, wooded areas around your area for natives. Another way is to germinate spores or do a trade. That will give you a good start and then you can go to the more expensive stuff when you have a little experience.-Sandy

• John_D
    20 years ago

Keep your garden shaded and evenly moist and mosses will arrive by themselves. Just give them time.

• ingrid_I_LUVmoss
    20 years ago