Return to the Cutting Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How many plants should I buy???

Posted by gardengirl77 5 (My Page) on
Sat, Jan 1, 11 at 14:45

Since I am new at cut flower farming.....I was wondering how many perennial plants like Delphinium I should be growing to have enough cuts for all summer/fall. I have about a half acre total that I am going to plant this spring with all my annual and perennial cut flowers. Could any of you give me a idea of how many Delphinium plants would be good to plant for that amount of land? I would appreciate any advice!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How many plants should I buy???

Hi, Gardengirl. I hope you will get answers from wiser people than I, but my first thought is that I'm not seeing how we can help you get enough cuts for all summer/fall. How about starting with how many you think you can sell and working backward from there?

Are you going to buy plugs? If it were me, I'd probably just buy a tray of 128 and see how those did.

ThinMan

o

Thinman,
I would like to buy some Delphinium plugs, but I wanted to ask some flower farmers who have more knowledge than I do how many plants I should start with....since I am new at this. Thanks for your input!

o

Perennial plants are an investment for the future. One doesn't reap the full benefits for a couple years. Are you selling them at Market or wholesale ?

o

I will mostly be selling to florists. I worked as a florist years ago....so I already have a ''in'' with a few of the local florists I knew when I worked. So far I have four different businesses that want to buy my flowers on a regular basis...so now I need to figure out how many plants I'm going to need to try and keep a good supply for them all summer!

o