Return to the Cutting Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
cut flower Dahlia: just long-stemmed or more?

Posted by linaria 7 (My Page) on
Mon, Jan 2, 12 at 15:19

Hi there,
I have grown Dahlias occasionally in my plot and just enjoyed cutting flowers for a bouquet now and than. When choosing cultivars I just went with the recommendations of the catalog. For next season I want to get some new bulbs, so I wondered: what makes a good cutting-Dahlia-cultivar? My guess so far: medium-sized flowers, long stalks, a color which can be matched with other stuff. What else is important to you?
And, at last, what are your favorites, especially by Dutch/European breeders? Gardening in Switzerland, I can't lay my hands on US- Canadian stuff. Thanks for your experiences, happy new Year and all, bye, Lin

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: cut flower Dahlia: just long-stemmed or more?

I would buy what ever one you think is the prettiest. As for me since I'm a flower farmer I have to go with what will last the longest. But what I do is what is recommended by Swan Island Dahlias for conditioning dahlias and that is after you just cut the stem put it in 160 F water with flower food. They say that makes them last longer. I also know dahlias really dirty the water so change it often. Cut early in the morning also. Other than that a lot of farmers use Karma dahlias for longevity. Others just go with what they like.

Happy New year.

o

Some dahlias have floppy stems; that is, they will not hold the bloom up nicely. If one needs nice long cutting stems, then disbudding and/or de-branching is necessary.

o