Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marthacr

mixed bouquets stems vs filler

marthacr
13 years ago

I make mixed bouquets with a lot of perennials such as catmint, echinacea, yarrow, feverfew, queen anne's lace along with larger flowers such as peonies, snaps, delphinium and lupine. The smaller flowered perennials or biennials are often act as my fillers. I am raising prices this year and am using a state pricing report as my guide. They have averaged a 10 stem zinnia bouquet at ~$6.00. For those of you who make mixed bouquets, what do you count as stems? Do you count the small flowers like Bach buttons and yarrow? That would be a pretty skimpy $6.00 bouquet in my opinion.

I have been selling mine at the same price for several years and have decided to start selling 2 different sizes, one at 6 and one at $8-10.

Comments (5)

• thinman
    13 years ago

I think it's a good idea to sell bouquets at different price levels, and it's worked well for me. The ten stem zinnia bouquet has me a little confused though. I've seen flowers of all kinds listed on the USDA website in ten stem bunches, but not bouquets. Can you tell us where we could get a look at the state guidelines you mentioned? I don't think I would have the nerve to charge 60 cents a stem for zinnias at my market, even with some filler stems and foliage. On the other hand, I've been told that my prices are too low and will be asking a bit more this year than last.

ThinMan

• marthacr
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Perhaps I misspoke. It is not listed as a 10 stem zinnia bouquet, but as a 10 stem bunch. This may just be a matter of semantics. They also list one farm as selling single stems of zinnias at 1.50 and .75 in two different months. Of course they don't say whether they sold any, lol! When you get to the linked page, scroll all the way down to the bottom and choose 2010 retail summary report. If you don't find it, I can send you the pdf via email.
    Martha