Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blaithinbeka

Starting seeds with no greenhouse

blaithinbeka
16 years ago

I am going mad! Does anyone have any ideas to help me figure out how I can extend my season into the spring with no greenhouse. I have a very limited amount of space in my windows and really nowhere to set up grow lights. I cannot convince myself to buy plugs right now since I am only in my second year of doing this and $200 (for the minimum order of plugs) in one shot is alot of risk for me. Any ideas on what to do?

Comments (16)

• hopflower
    16 years ago

Well, there are cold frames to consider. Put into a sunnier place in the garden, you can often start things much earlier without having to worry about it. You can build one with old bricks and old windows, or even lumber and such. Or, you can get a nice one from a garden catalogue that might suit you.

• kitkat_oregon
    16 years ago

We had great success with building a cold frame with strawbales (laid down on their long sides) and woodframed heavy duty plastic "windows" laid down over the top and held down with rocks on the corners. You can also create a slope for the windows by laying the front bales down flat and then placing your seed flats inside. The straw is a wonderful insulator and works really well. We found that the best width was only one bale, saves your poor back from having to reach too far over. Basically, you are creating a long rectangle, make sense? Pretty low cost too. Good luck. Kat

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    16 years ago

I start all my seeds by winter-sowing. As a matter of fact, it was so successful for me, that is how I got into selling at market. I have no greenhouse and do not start a single seed indoors.

My market does not start until July, so I do have more time than some to grow things, but by the same token I do grow stuff for my own garden that blooms earlier.

Check out the WSing forum for more info.

Good luck!
    :)
    Dee