Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
taty_gw

What are the best cut flowers to grow in a Greenhouse?

taty
18 years ago

I am new to all of this. My husband and I are about to embark a cut flower business growing from a green house. What are the best/easiest flowers that I could start out with? I am open to any and all suggestions.

I just happened on to this websight and think it's great!

Comments (16)

• taty
    Original Author
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

also to add, is it better to grow a large variety of flowers, or a large number of just few varieties?

• Fundybayfarm
    18 years ago

Taty,
    Welcome. What you are growing depends on your market. You need to give us more information as to how you'll be selling your flowers.
    Cheryl

• taty
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thank you all for your responses.

We are purchasing a 15,000 sq ft glass greenhouse. My intention was to grow cut flowers wholesale for florists. I have been reading anything I can find on cut flowers, I have found most of to relate to inground acreage however. My husband has talked to a few florists in the area who have been very receptive to a local grower. That was encouraging to me. I have been looking up florist websights to see what the majority of the bouquets are made up of. Yesterday my hopes of this venture were dampened by a greenhouse seller out of colorado my husband talked to. He told my husband that there weren't any cut flower growers here in the U.S. anymore because of the competion from the southern countries. So, now I'm not sure. Trish, your comments were again encouraging abut there being successful growers here in Idaho. I will look up the Association of Specialty Cut FlowerS Growers, I assume they have a websight?

I was wanting to be able to grow through out the year. Not sure if heating cost will affect this. I may end up just being seasonal. I live in the Boise area if Idaho. Not to cold most of the time. Pretty hot in the summer though.