Return to the Cutting Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Shrub Selections for Cut Flowers

Posted by teresa_b z6 MO (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 19, 07 at 21:55

Hello All,

I have enjoyed reading many of your posts. I was an avid cut flower hobbyist until DH and I purchased 18 acres and horses. We will soon be breaking ground and moving to the property so I anticipate having opportunities to enjoy cut flower gardening again instead of running back and forth between properties. As I have plenty of property and I also love shrubs, I wanted to see what shrubs you suggested for cut flowers for personal use? I am familiar with lilacs, forsythia, mock orange, pussy willow, etc., and am wondering if you have any other favorites you feel would be useful to provide a vaseful now and then.

Thanks in advance.

Teresa

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Shrub Selections for Cut Flowers

Here are some others I enjoy. winter honeysuckle, buddlaiea, bridals wreath spirea, japanese quince,snowball viburnum, any of the other viburnums for fall color, winter hazels, cornas mas, dogwood, spring bouquet viburnum, flowering plum, crabapple, huckleberry and blueberry and sword fern for foliage, salal for foliage.

o

Thank you Lizalily. I will add those to my wish list of plants to be worked into the landscape.

Teresa

o

Howdy,

Lilac, Lilac, and oh yes, more Lilac.....

Bucky

o

Thanks Bucky. I am a huge fan of lilac also. I just need to narrow my selections so I have early, mid and late. What is the best true pink that you grow?

Teresa

o

Teresa, here in zone 4/5. I grow Curly willow, 4 types of Pussywillow, Dogwood, Oregon Grape, Holly, Rosehip, Boxwood, Forsythia, Hydrangea, Quince.

We cut wild: Manzanita, Mahogany and Fir.

Bucky, how's the fire season looking? The one in OC looks big.

Bryan

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!