Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brian_kc0kfg

Anyone else just starting with flowers?

brian_kc0kfg
18 years ago

Hi Brian here in Marietta Mn and Im just getting started in flower sales.

I have some Vegtables at market for a while but want to branch out.

The wife is happy about the change and im excited as well its a new year with new things to learn.

Thank you Trish for all the help and here I am helping keep the fourm alive.

Allright lets go. anybody else just getting the feet wet? Let's hear why? and some plans for 2006 and beyond.

Brian kc0kfg

Comments (36)

• bluestarrgallery
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Dear Brian,

I have several different varieties of lavender planted which will be ready for cut and dried flowers this year, but am going to try adding other perennials which can take hot summers such as agastache, achillea, coreopsis, echinacea, gallardia, helenium, liatris, lobelia, phlox, ratibida, rudbeckia, salvia and shasta daisy.

I was also going to try annuals of amaranth, gomphrena, sunflower, and zinnia.

Has anyone ever grown craspedia?

I am going out today to prepare beds for planting. Since I have a huge gopher population here I roll out aviary wire and then make raised beds with the soil and compost mix placed on top of the aviary lined beds and the edges lined with rocks harvested from my property. My cat and the blue heron who come in the winter can't seem to keep up with the burgeoning gopher population.

Linda

• mbravebird
    18 years ago

Hello, Brian!

My husband and I closed on a house and two acres in December, which will allow us to try to start growing cut flowers for market this year for the first time. We are excited! We are not at the house/land yet, because a few more renovations need to be done. We will be there soon.