Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carinb_gw

lily bulbs in bulb crates

carinb
16 years ago

I have been growing cuts for market for 3 years now, but this is the first year that I am growing lily bulbs in bulb crates. Just wanted to know how many bulbs per crate you all are planting. The orientals are bigger, of course, and the asiatics are smaller. Didn't know if I could really pack them in or if I should do more like 12-13 bulbs per crate. Thanks in advance.

Carin

Comments (13)

• goodscents
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I've done around 20 with no problems but I usually order the smallest available size for each variety (usually 12-14cm). You can probably also ask whoever you ordered the bulbs from.
    Kirk

• kitkat_oregon
    16 years ago

Hi Carin, I usually put 16 in a crate, a milk crate that is. There are also the large crates that the bulbs usually ship in and these can hold alot more, I get 28 in mine, but like Kirk, I use the smaller bulbs, 12-14cm. Good luck, they should do really well for you. Mine have been a huge success and so convenient. Kat

• happytobe025_yahoo_com
    12 years ago

Sorry to dig up an old post but if anyone can help me with more details on crating lilies for cut flowers id really appreciate the expertise. I'm curious about what everyone does with them in the winter... leave out, bring in, etc. Also a good source for the crates and what you prefer for planting medium. Thanks so much!

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    12 years ago

Jennyrey, I'm glad you brought this back up. I too grow in crates, and I have been looking without much success for information how to store the bulbs over winter.

I usually store the crates, still planted, in my garage. Other than a bit of rodent damage (nothing too bad, knock on wood), they do fine and I bring them out in the spring. Top them off a bit (I usually just use Pro-Mix) and put them out to grow.