Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
butterflylion_gw

Double Cosmos 'Double Click'

butterflylion
15 years ago

How do the double Cosmos work as cut flowers? Has anyone seen the blooms of the new double pink: Cosmos 'Double Click Rose Bon Bon?' Thompson & Morgan has it on their cover, and it looks like it might have more petals than the flowers from the mix. Do the plants that come up from self sown seed come true?

Comments (9)

• thinman
    15 years ago

I grew double clicks in '08 and I've decided not to this year. I got quite a few with weakish necks and floppy flowerheads, and many of them had lots of short side stems all the way up to the apical bud. They could be cut off, but I'd rather not have to bother with them at all.

Both of these problems could totally be my own fault, as I am still a beginner at this stuff, but I had very good luck with the Versailles cosmos, and will be doubling up on growing those this year.

I'd be very interested in hearing of others' experiences with the double clicks. They were pretty.

ThinMan

• nckvilledudes
    15 years ago

It was on the cover of the 2009 Select Seeds catalog as well and I had to order it with the other seeds I ordered from them. They are selling both Cosmos 'Double Click' and Cosmos 'Rose Bonbon'. I was mesmerized by the full double blooms on the Rose Bonbon which almost looks like a dahlia to me. I will see how it does compared to the other regular cosmos that I have grown in the past. They were all the regular type cosmos in orange/yellow, red, pink, and a deeper red/burgundy and they came true to seed. Not sure about this one though.

• flowers4u
    15 years ago

I'm going to try it on a small scale again this year too. The first year (2 years ago) it bloomed well, but I do found the open flower tended to flop a bit. I found if you cut it early (i.e. before it was fully open) and kept the side stems, they did ok, just ok.