Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kristenmarie_gw

another sweet pea question

kristenmarie
18 years ago

Hi, can anyone tell me how long sweet peas take from seed sown to bloom? My seeds are soaking for 24 hours now and I'm planting today-- any idea when I'll have stuff to sell (presuming I ever do)? (And I know I'm planting "late" according to the rules... for my cold and frost-prone area, I'm pretty sure I'm actually EARLY :)

kristen, where it hit 15 degrees night before last

Comments (12)

• randimoore
    18 years ago

Hi KristenMarie,
    I'm taking a midday break from my 'torturous' outdoor activities, finally able to see the beds without snow cover...
    Anyhoo, to your question about sweetpeas..I guess we're sort of in the same growing arena zonally... I found Jane, (Snapdragon Scotland) to be a big help to me on a sweetpea question last year so I think she'd be able to fill in alot of the particulars..I've been growing them here in Vermont for about 4 years and I've always started them inside though I am told repeatedly they loathe transplanting...When I lived in southern New England I direct sowed them into the ground on St. Paddy's Day but that's a laugh and a half to me here with several feet of snow on the ground on that date usually..
    So I began starting them in whatever I had handy inside and then on a nice moist, cloudy day when they're about 3 or 4 inches high I plant them out along whatever pea fence I've devised and either I'm lucky or crazy but I rarely lose any..(I also wrote to some professional sweetpea grower/seed seller in England who told me he MOVES the location of where the peas are planted each year..what was the path between the rows one year becomes the planting area the next so he told me)..